Tick icon
I am the notification bar, pleased to meet you.
Close close icon

Looking to feature your news?

Submit your articles to appear in members news

Click Here

Allocation of healthcare funding

NHS boards to receive further investment of £327 million. 

Posted In

Further investment of more than £320 million in Scotland’s health boards has been confirmed by Health Secretary Shona Robison.

Territorial boards will receive £186 million, providing an above-inflation average uplift of 2.1%. This funding will ensure that all boards are within 1% of parity under the NHS funding formula,

In addition to the Territorial Board funding, Ms Robison has confirmed that £128 million will be invested in supporting delivery of service reform and improvement. This will help the health service to continue to shape services so the NHS can meet the challenges of an ageing population.

Special boards will receive uplifts of £13 million, taking the total additional investment in NHS boards to £327 million.

The uplift for territorial boards includes an additional £107 million of NHS investment in social care. Among other things this will help to deliver the commitment to pay all care workers the living wage.

Ms Robison said:

“Next year we will commit an additional £327 million to our Health Boards, delivering £176 million more than inflation in the coming year.

“To provide the NHS that people need, we must take the twin approach of investment and reform. That is why it’s important that we are investing £128 million to help territorial boards to deliver service improvements and reform. We recognise that our growing elderly population means that we need to shift the focus of care towards the community, and that is what we’ll continue to do.

“Over the coming months we will continue to work with all boards to develop financial plans for this year and beyond. Together we will ensure that this investment delivers better care, better services and better value.”

Territorial boards receiving additional funding towards NRAC parity are: Ayrshire and Arran, Fife, Forth Valley, Grampian, Highland, Lanarkshire, Lothian, Shetland and Tayside.

Url has been copied